Police

Services

Request email notification when page changes Email Me

Incident Reports are generally available three to five business days after the report is made. For copies of reports, the cost is $5.00 and can be obtained at our office Monday through Friday, 9am to 4pm.  To obtain a report by mail, send a check or money order for $5.00 to the address below.     Be sure to note the case number or other pertinent information to help us locate your report (victim, date, drivers, etc.).

    City of Stone Mountain Police
    Custodian of Records
    875 Main Street
    Stone Mountain, GA 30083

BuyCrashLogo UAccident Reports are generally available three to five business days after the report is made. For copies of reports, visit www.buycrash.com.  If your report is not available at that site, you should follow the same instructions as an incident report.


Open Records: All Open Records requests pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-18-70 must be sent to the Office of the City Clerk, Stone Mountain City Hall, 875 Main Street, Stone Mountain, GA  30083.

Driver License information is available through the Georgia Department of Driver Services..  For more information, contact the DDS at (678) 413-8400 or at their web site, www.dds.ga.gov.  The DDS web site contains valuable license and vehicle registration information.

Driver Histories are only available through the Georgia Department of Driver Services.  For more information, contact the DDS at (678) 413-8400 or at their web site, www.dds.ga.gov.

Expunge/Restrict Criminal Records:  Georgia law O.C.G.A. §35-3-37 provides for the restriction of certain criminal history records for non-criminal justice purposes.  If you believe your arrest prior to July 1, 2013 is eligible AND you were arrested by this agency, download the request form by clicking here.

Fingerprinting: Due to new requirements for fingerprinting standards, we are no longer able to fingerprint individuals for application purposes.

Criminal History Checks are performed every weekday from 9am until 4pm (assuming trained personnel are available). You must bring current government issued photo identification (driver’s license, passport, etc.). This check lists offenses for the State of Georgia only. The cost is $20.00. 

Vacation House Checks: The Stone Mountain Police Department offers a "House Check" program designed to provide our familyVacationStackedCarClipArtresidents increased peace of mind while away from their homes during vacations, work related travel, or for other reasons. Information submitted by the resident makes it possible for the police department to contact the resident, or their designated key holder, in the event that a problem develops at their residence. The House Check Program provides an overall increase in police presence around your home as well as your neighborhood during your time away. This program is a public service to help safeguard citizen’s property and allow for a rapid response and owner notification in the event of a problem. Please understand that this program is no substitute for normal precautions that a resident should take when away from home nor does it imply any guarantee or assurances as to the safety of your home.  It is still recommended that when away from home that you stop deliveries of the mail, paper, or any other regularly scheduled deliveries and activitate any alarm system you may have at your house.

This service is only available to residents within the City limits of Stone Mountain.  Download the request form here.

Neighborhood Watch: If you're interested in getting involved with a Neighborhood Watch Program, or starting one, contact Lt. S.E. Manning at our office, (770) 879-4980.

Cart PicMotorized Cart Permits (Golf Cart) are issued through the Police Department.  Rules for golf carts and inspection requirements are located in Chapter 13, Section 13-136 through 13-144 of the Stone Mountain City Ordinances.  Inspection forms are available at by clicking here.  If you have any questions, please contact Officer Bob Hillis at (770) 879-4980.

Precious Metal and Gem Dealers are required to be registered with the Police Department to comply with Georgia Law (O.C.G.A § 43-37).  The registration form is available at the Police Department.  There is no cost for this registration.